Founded in 1867 in Marion, Alabama by nine former slaves, Alabama State University was originally intended as a school for African-Americans. Today, the ASU campus is located in Montgomery, Alabama and is home to some 5,000 students – the majority of them African-American – yet still maintains a student to faculty ratio of just 18:1. Its attractively designed campus is home to seventy student organizations and seventeen student honor organizations.

Undergraduate programs at Alabama State University include, among others, history and political science, biology, social work, sociology, various business administration programs, computer sciences, numerous health and education programs and a selection of degrees in the visual and performing arts. Graduate programs are offered in the social sciences, biology education, history education, secondary education, special education, mathematics education, health education and many other fields. There are three doctorate programs offering PhD.’s in educational leadership, policy and law, microbiology and physical therapy. ASU is also host to an Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) program.

Alabama State University is accredited by several organizations, including the Commission on Colleges Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), a regional accreditation agency recognized by the United States Department of Education. SACS provides accreditation to institutions within an 11-state area, including Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. Some accreditation is also extended to parts of Latin America. (SACSCOC, 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033 – (404)679-4500 – Fax: (404) 679-4558).