Athens State University was founded in 1822 as the Athens Female Academy in Athens, Alabama. In 1842, the Methodist Church took control of the institution until the State of Alabama made it public in 1971, changing the name to Athens State College, which then became Athens State University in 1998. Originally female-only, ASU has been coeducational since 1931. It is home to some 3,300 students, and offers degrees for a total of 33 different majors, some of which are available through online programs in addition to traditional classes. ASU maintains a satellite program in London, England.

Programs at Athens State University provide bachelor’s degrees in many different areas. The College of Business offers degrees in Accounting and different forms of management. The College of Education offers a variety of teaching degrees. The bulk of the degree programs at ASU are provided by the College of Arts and Sciences. Programs are offered there in art, biology, computer science, English, history, liberal studies, mathematics, public safety and health administration, social science and many other fields. Six different online degrees are offered by ASU: accounting, human resource management, management, management of technology, computer science and religious studies.

Athens State University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), a regional accreditation agency recognized by the United States Department of Education. SACS provides accreditation to institutions within an 11-state area, including Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. Some accreditation is also extended to parts of Latin America. (SACSCOC, 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033 – (404)679-4500 – Fax: (404)679-4558).